Week 15: I am still really nervous

My “babies bump” has come in the last two weeks. It’s very, very strange. Even at my heaviest, I have never really had a stomach that sticks out (I gain weight in my thighs and bottom, not my belly) so having a belly is very strange.

I told my students today that I’m excpecting. I guess I actually only told half of them because we had a half day for conferences. They were all really excited about it, which was neat. However excited I try to be, though, I’m still primarily terrified.

Before I found out I was having twins, I had pretty much decided that I wanted to try and have a natural birth.  Of course even with one baby, sometimes that decision doesn’t work out. But with twins, I feel like it’s even less likely. There’s also the fact that whether it’s by c-section or inducing labor, these babies will be coming at least two weeks earlier than I had initially planned. I had imagined myself working right up to the due date and only missing the last 8 weeks of the school year. Now I will probably be missing the last 10, and that’s assuming I’m able to work up until the end of March.

I’m tired of people telling me how “huge” I’m going to be, and that I might need to go on bed rest, and that they’ll be born in March and not April. How on earth would you know that? What makes you the medical professional all of a sudden? And why does it make you feel better to try and scare the heck out of somebody else?

Everyone says to enjoy this time, but there is so much to do, and I am so terrified, that “enjoy” is just not on my list of verbs right now.

Here is a picture of the “babies bump,” if I can get it to work.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 15: I am still really nervous

  1. Katie says:

    I’ve thought about you every single day since we talked last week. All I can say is that now, at almost 30 weeks, I’m ridiculously excited to be having twins, which I wouldn’t have thought possible back in May. ; )

    • Twins Happen says:

      Thanks so much, Katie! I can’t tell you how grateful I am to have you to talk to during this time. I would be infinitely more freaked out if I didn’t know that you were ahead of me in this, and that you’re doing ok. I’m really glad to hear that you’re excited! Hopefully I will start getting excited too.

Leave a Reply

