Beginning Week 16… and Month 4

There is some debate about when the first trimester of pregnancy ends and the second one begins, but any way you look at it, I am definitely in the second trimester now. And after today, I have been pregnant for three entire months, meaning that I’m beginning my fourth.

In case you didn’t know, when you hear that pregnancy is 40 weeks, this means 40 weeks from the first day of your last period. Assuming you have a “normal” cycle, this means weeks 1 and 2 of pregnancy occur before you’re actually pregnant. So by time time you find out, you’re probably in week 4 or 5, but you’ve actually only been preganant for about 2 weeks. Strange, right?

Anyway, that means no matter how you count it or look at it, I’m in month 4, and I’m only beginning to realize how much there really is to do.  For some reason, since I found out we are having twins, my forward progress as far as reading information and getting things ready as been slow. We bought just a few things at a baby expo last week, but other than that, we haven’t made any purchases, or even thought very much about making purchases. Maybe we just needed a few weeks to take it all in. Whatever the reason, it’s time to keep moving forward… or at least to figure out what we need to do to move forward.

And there is lots to do. The baby’s (now babies’) room is currently mostly a storage area. Will’s old desk is in there, along with papers from high school, college, and other random times. All of my scrapbooking materials and supplies are in there. I haven’t worked on scrapbooking AT ALL since we moved in January, so that’s obviously not a good place for them to be if I’m ever going to use them again. We have a filing cabinet in there that desperately needs to be cleaned out, and then we need to put a lot of paperwork that is just lying around on our kitchen counter and in my office area back into the filing cabinet. The last major thing to take care of in that room is the mulititude of stuffed animals. That is one things we DEFINITELY DO NOT NEED for the babies. I have a few that I’ve kept from growing up, but the vast majority, for reasons that would take way too long to explain, have actually been acccumulated in my adult life. Just for an example, when the Care Bears suddenly came back after a 15 year hiatus, I felt the need to buy several of those.  Babies, even two of them, really don’t need too many stuffed animals, though, so in the meantime, the animals are going to be stored in the garage.

And that is only what we need to do to get the room cleaned out. Then we need to figure out if we want to paint it, and then we need to start looking for all of the baby furniture that will eventually go inside. There is lots to do, and now only about 5 months to do it.

We also have several other things we’re trying to think through and figure out. Will I go back to teaching in the fall or will I try to find something else opposite Will’s schedule to save on daycare costs? Can we make our current cars work for awhile or do we need to buy a new car that can fit two car seats and our dog? What kind of diapers are we going to use? There is lots to think about and try to figure out, so hopefully we’ll be able to do it all (or at least enough of it) before March.

So I’m feeling overwhelmed, but fortunately still pretty good health-wise. My tummy isn’t big enough to cause discomfort, yet, and I’m still able to exercise and move comfortably. I can still wear my most of my pants, and I have a couple of pairs of maternity pants for when my normal pants don’t fit any more. I can’t feel the babies yet, but everything looked fine at our last appointment, and I don’t have another one until Nov. 15. Hopefully things will be (medically) uneventful until then so that we can get some of the logistics figured out. 

In the meantime, like always, I have a lot to do for school. First quarter ends this coming Friday, so I REALLY need to get caught up on my grading. I’m about to get ready to head for school to prepare for this week, and tonight, in between trick-or treaters, I will be grading papers.  This week is going to be buys with the quarter ending, and the newspaper is due to the printers tomorrow, but when I get through this week, there is some rest in sight. We only have a three-day week the next week because we get Veteran’s Day and the day after off from school. I will be very grateful for the extra time to sleep and to hopefully start taking care of some of this baby stuff.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

