Week 17: Feeling tired

Feeling terrified has mostly subsided into just feeling tired. I can’t seem to get enough sleep. During the school year, it is pretty common for me to be sleep-deprived. Three or four hour nights are not that rare, though I usually manage 5-6.  I’ve been known to come home on a Friday afternoon, go to bed at 4:00, and sleep until the next morning.

This year, I just can’t do it. I need six hours minimum or I just can’t make myself get out of bed. As a result, I’ve been going to bed around 7:30 or 8:00 and getting up at 3:30 or 4:00 to get all of my work for school done. This weekend I slept 10 hours Friday night, and then I needed a nap on Saturday. I slept about 6 hours last night, woke up early, couldn’t fall back asleep, but then around 11 layed on the couch and slept until 3 this afternoon.  Needing so much sleep has made it challenging to get all of my work done, but I’m trying to manage.

I had a couple of days last week when I just didn’t feel great. School starts at 7:40 and I don’t get a break until lunch at 11:10. I know it’s not THAT long, but it definitely feels long when I have to be on my feet and on top of it. I have been lucky and haven’t felt that “different” throughout my pregnancy so far, but the last two days at work I just started feeling really tired and have really wanted to sit down. Fortunately my classes are pretty decent, so sometimes I can, even if it’s just for a few minutes.

My measurements are the same as they were last week, but I feel like my tummy is definitely more noticeable. My weight started going back up again, so I’m about 2.5 pounds above my pre-pregnancy weight. I should be more than that by now, but the doctor hasn’t said anything, so I’m not worried about it yet. I’m trying to eat more protein, but I know I have some room for improvement there.

This week is a three day week at school. We have Thursday off for Veterans Day, and we are one of the few districts to have Friday off as well. I’ll have more grading than usual, since I’ll have essays and book projects, but I’m REALLY looking forward to have a couple of extra days to get some sleep and to work on baby stuff.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

