Week 18: Have you felt them move yet?

No, not yet, though that seems to be everyone’s question right now.  Apparently most women begin to feel their babies sometime during weeks 18-20, so while I’m just at the beginning of this time period, I’m starting to find myself thinking “Why haven’t I felt them yet!” Even though I know that all too soon I’ll probably wish that I couldn’t feel anything.

I wore a pair of my regular pants on Monday, and that will probably be the last time for awhile.  My younger sister helped me go shopping to buy some maternity clothes a couple of weeks ago. Even though the pants are still a little big, they are much more comfortable than my regular ones are now. I need to go through my closet and set aside the clothes that I probably won’t be able to wear for 8-12 months. It’s very strange to think about things like that.

I had my third doctor’s appointment on Monday this week.  They have all been very brief. The doctor asks how I’m feeling, looks quickly at the babies on the ultrasound, and then we’re out of there. I don’t particularly care for check-ups in general, so this is fine by me. However, I do feel like at some point I should be getting more information than what they’ve given me so far.

I’ve started gaining weight again. I’m not sure why, but for a few weeks, right after we found out we were having twins, I didn’t gain any weight, and I even went down a pound or two. On Monday I was two pounds heavier than I was at my last appointment, though, so things seem to be moving in the right direction again. I’ve gained about 5 pounds so far in total.

We started our baby registry. We haven’t registered for all that much yet, mostly just the cribs, car seats, and stroller.  We’ll be able to pick out more once we have an idea of the genders. I have an ultrasound scheduled in about two weeks. Hopefully then we’ll be able to tell their genders. The babies have to be in a good position though, so it could be we won’t know anymore after that point, either.

I think that’s about it for pregnancy events. I’m still feeling pretty good, just generally tired. And I’ve started having a few aches in certain places, like my lower back, if I’m standing or sitting for too long. I really can’t complain about too much yet, though, and I’m almost to the half-way mark.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

