Week 21: It’s the most wonderful time of the year

I love the Christmas season. The only bad part is that it usually goes so fast, and there’s so much to do, that I feel like I “miss” a lot of it. This year with baby preparations, there’s even more to do.

Yesterday I worked at school for over six hours, we updated our baby registry, and I FINALLY cleaned off our kitchen counter. We had some mail (all junk mail) that hadn’t been opened since school started in September! Today I have to grade essays, tests, and I’m going to my cousin’s baby shower, which is about two hours away.  I still have some Christmas shopping to do, I have to mail gifts, I still need to address my Christmas cards, I have mid-quarter grades due at the end of this week, we’re going to a baby consignment sale next Saturday, Will’s 30th birthday is coming up, and I need to pack for our trip to Montana.

While much of this is fun stuff that I CHOOSE to do (buying presents, Christmas cards, etc.) add in all the baby things like signing up for birthing classes, looking for a day care, and organizing baby stuff, and it starts to feel overwhelming. Is this what the rest of my life is going to feel like? I’m so impressed with my friends who are parents and seem to have it all together. I’m always aspiring to get to that point, but I never seem to get there.

Anyway, since today is full, I should finish and get off of the computer. I just wanted to update HERE, even though I’ve already told most or all of you who will be reading, we had our 20 week ultrasound on Thursday. The babies both look good and seem to be developing normally. They each weigh about 11 ounces, and I’ve gained 7 pounds. The tech believes they are both girls, though she wasn’t 100% sure on one of them. I had a dream a couple of nights before the ultrasound that they would both be girls, so that was kind of a strange experience. We had been calling them Adam and Adora, so now they’ll need new nicknames… and they still need real names too.

Of course we are excited, but to be totally honest, we had been hoping for one boy and one girl. This will probably be it for us and having babies. I can’t imagine trying for a third and then ending up with twins AGAIN and having four. Of course that is all unknown, but it’s just very strange to think that we’ll NEVER have a boy. I think I’ve been thinking more about it than Will has. He just said that at some point now, he’ll want a second dog, and he’ll want it to be a boy. 🙂

As for pregnancy symptoms, I’m doing okay.  I wake up sometimes in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, and once in awhile, like on Saturday, I can’t fall back asleep. On the whole that doesn’t happen too often. I’m still having some issues with heartburn. I’ll be fine for a few days, and then I’ll have one day when I experience it after every meal. I’m not sure if there’s a relationship between the heartburn and the kinds of food I’m eating, or how I’m eating, or what exactly. Until I do, Tums are my friend, and they seem to take care of it. The most I’ve ever had to take in a day is six, so I know it could be a lot worse.

I really do need to get ready to go to the baby shower now. I’m excited to see my family, and to give my cousin her baby stuff.  She’s having a little girl sometime this month, so our babies (who will actually be second cousins, once removed in relationship to each other) will be close in age, and hopefully will be friends. Yay!

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 21: It’s the most wonderful time of the year

  1. Medina says:

    And where is said “baby registry”? 😉

Leave a Reply

