Week 21: The more I learn about having twins, the more worried I become

Ever since I found out I was pregnant, I’ve been listening to a great pregnancy podcast called Pregtastic. I was excited when they recently began a three-part series on twins. I thought, “This is perfect. Great timing!” Only the more I learn, the more I have to worry about.

Example 1: Mothers of twins are at a much greater risk for gestational diabetes. I had never even HEARD of gestational diabetes until I started learning about pregnancy. I learned that it’s something that happens in a small percentage of pregnant women, and it can often be prevented through healthy diet and exercise. I figured I didn’t have too much to worry about. Fast forward to me hearing that women pregnant with twins FREQUENTLY get gestational diabetes. In the group of 6 women discussing their twin pregnancies, two of them have it. Being diagnosed means a low carb, no added sugar diet and testing your blood sugar levels at least four times a day.  Yuck!

Example 2: Apparently in a twins pregnancy, you’re supposed to intentionally put on weight during the first half of your pregnancy.  This is because twins are frequently born prematurely, and you want them to be as big in size as possible if this happens. Now, I was kind of proud of myself for not going crazy with the sugar like I really want to, and for not gaining a ton of weight so far. My doctor has said NOTHING about my weight gain at this point, so if this is true, she has failed to educate me. My pregnancy is half over, and I’ve gained about 7 or 8 pounds so far, definitely not “the majority of my weight” as was expressed in the blog entry on the podcast. 😦

Example 3: The doctor on the first episode of this twins series said that she tells all of her patients carrying twins to be prepared to go on bed rest at week 28.  PREPARED to go on BED REST???  WEEK 28??? REALLY???? This would be the final week of first semester in January if I were to have to do this. My goal is to keep working until spring break at the beginning of April. Again, my doctor has said NOTHING about this. I always viewed bed rest as something that happened to a few rare cases with serious medical conditions, not as a likely possibility.

I’ve decided that I don’t like learning about twins and the myriad of complications that can arise. This has only opened a whole new stream of worries in my head.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 21: The more I learn about having twins, the more worried I become

  1. Katie says:

    I’m guessing the doctor guest was Dr. Barbara Luke, the author of What to Expect When You’re Expecting Twins, etc. I flipped through that book at Barnes and Nobel right after finding out I was having twins and it scared the crap out of me. I didn’t purchase it (too scary!), but I ran a lot of her suggestions past my doctors (like “you should gain 25 pounds by week 25” and “go on bed rest before week 30”) and they laughed.

    Now, I haven’t exactly had a complication-free pregnancy, and I certainly wouldn’t argue that carrying twins is exactly like carrying a singleton, but I know for sure that stress doesn’t help. As long as your doctor seems confident with multiples pregnancies (and I’m assuming at some point you’ll have a consultation with an MFM or a perinatologist), and as long as they seem happy with your health and progress, I’d try not to worry. ; )

    • Twins Happen says:

      Thanks for allaying some of my worries. 🙂 The guest was actually Dr. Amy French, who is currently pregnant with twins herself, so it’s hard for me to dismiss what she says. But OF COURSE I need to remember that EVERY pregnancy is different. And mine seems to be going just fine, so I shouldn’t worry about potential problems that may never even come to pass.

  2. Kally says:

    I had two single pregnancies. With my daughter, I had her while I was a college student and was back to class before the week was out. With my son, I was on bedrest pretty early because of placenta previa. My placenta attached to my uterus too close to the cervix. Neither of my labors were especially wonderful, but at least my pregnancy with my daughter was easy. My son, not so much. Sick the whole almost 8 months I was pregnant with him, he put some appendage between my pelvic bone and my hip, which sent me into early contractions, which made me be on magnesium sulfate for the maximum four days (shudder)…anyway, not trying to scare you just reliving it. Since you’ve made it this far with your only symptom being incredible sleepiness, I’m betting you’ll make it at least til your goal of spring break. I have confidence in you and your healthy lifestyle! Keep up the good incubating!

Leave a Reply

