Week 23: traveling and shower

We made the drive from Washington to Helena yesterday in a little more than 12 hours. While that’s not THAT long, we can usually do it in about 10.  Will and I are used to getting in the car and going with a minimum number of stops. This doesn’t work so well when you’re pregnant and have to pee a lot.

We left at about 7:15 in the morning. We were able to get to Cle Elum without stopping. Then we went to Ellensberg. I had the horrible idea of looking for a Star Bucks so that I could get a chai tea before we hit the road again.  Apparently Star Bucks was THE place to be that morning. It was SO crowded. We probably spent a total of 45 minutes just in Ellensberg. Lesson learned.

From there I drove until a rest stop a little past Ritzville. I drove for almost two hours, but my back really started to hurt, so that was about all I could do in one stretch.  Will took over again, and I didn’t intend for this, but he ended up driving the rest of the way. I sure love my awesome husband!

We stopped outside of Spokane, got lunch to go so we could hit the Idaho passes before it got dark. We were able to keep driving until we got into Montana. We stopped at St. Regis. From there we made it to the rest stop just past Missoula. And from there we were able to make it straight to Helena.

For the first time in a long time, we got to my parents’ before they were in bed for the night. It’s so nice to be “home” again!

Today my long-time friend put on a baby shower for me. It was so fun to see everyone, and everyone was very generous and got us some cool stuff! Little girl clothes are just so cute!

When we first left yesterday, we didn’t have very many plans to meet up with people, but our week is quickly filling up. I love this time of year so much, and it’s so much fun to get to see everyone.

I’m away from the scale and the tape measure for now, so I’m not sure how much things have changed in the last week. I’ll try to measure at some point, and then we’ll measure again once we’re back.  The babies are growing so fast now.

This week also means I’m beginning the sixth month.  Five months complete, four (or fewer) to go. Scary! Once we return though, our project will be to put the baby room together. We’ll see how much progress can be made in six days.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

