Week 24: Baby Dance Party

I went very quickly from thinking to myself, “Is that them? Am I finally feeling them move?” to undeniable baby movements several times throughout the day.  Will was able to feel them for the first time when we were in Montana.  I was sitting on the couch one evening playing a game on my phone, and I kept telling Will to put his hand on my belly because I bet he’d be able to feel the movement too.  He tried a few times but wasn’t able to feel anything.  Finally I had him put his hand on my stomach and leave it there, and then I pressed on his back whenever I felt movement inside.  It wasn’t very strong, but he was finally able to correlate the baby’s movements to what he was feeling. He felt Baby B (the higher baby.  Since the lower baby will be born first, she is Baby A.) A couple of nights later on Christmas Day, both of my sisters were able to feel Baby B move too.

Since then I have felt Baby A move, but I think she is harder for other people to feel since she is lower in my body. In general, I’m associating movements that are above my belly button with Baby B and below with Baby A.  I guess we’ll see on our next ultrasound (scheduled for January 14, the end of week 26) if I’m accurate with this.

In the meantime we’ve made some progress with the babies’ room, but it still has stuff in it that needs to get cleaned out. We decided we’re going to paint one wall of the room to match the light green curtains that are already there. We both like the curtains a lot, so we decided early on we’d probably go with green as one of the main colors, whether we had boys or girls.

I’m amazed by how quickly time is passing. It’s normal for Christmas break to go quickly, but I can hardly believe that tomorrow begins week 25. We still have lots to do, and unfortunately I am just not full of energy to do it.  I have read a lot about how women just LOVE the second trimester of pregnancy, how they feel so good and have so much energy. This hasn’t been the case for me. Over break I’ve been sleeping 10-12 hours a night, and  a lot of the time throughout the day, I just don’t feel like doing anything. Also, my back hurts a lot, and lying down is the fastest way to make it feel better, so that’s what I do.

Fortunately for me, Will is wonderful, and I know he’ll help me to make sure we get everything done. It’s going to be challenging, though, and it’s happening very quickly.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

