Week 27: I don’t have gestational diabetes!

Before I get into the complaining, I thought I’d start with a positive. I was very excited to learn this week that I DON’T have gestational diabetes. This is a HUGE relief.  Twin pregnancies are complicated enough without having to worry about that.

At this point, I’m getting REALLY tired of people saying, “OMG – you’re getting so big!” Do they think that I don’t have a mirror? That I can’t see it myself? That I still don’t know what I’m going to do when my coat no longer zips up? Which is going to happen very soon. And I’m not talking about my students. I’m talking about the ADULTS that I work with. I feel like I need to send out an all-office email about pregnancy ettiquete.

So just in case you aren’t aware, a pregnant woman NEVER needs to here how big she’s getting. She knows exactly how big she’s getting. She’s probably agonizing over it. Find another topic of conversation.

I am feeling big these days… and really, really tired. I’m having a hard time accomplishing anything after school. When this happens, I usually try to go to bed early and then wake up early to get my work done. Beginning this week, though, I haven’t been able to make myself wake up early. I just keep hitting snooze on the alarm clock. Not a great plan if I’m ever going to get anything done.

Fortunately school has gone more smoothly this year than in any year before. It’s still the same amount of work, though, and I’m finding I have less and less energy and motivation to get things done.

Here is a recent picture. Remember, I don’t need to hear how big I am. 🙂

I had an ultrasound last Friday, at the end of week 26. “Venus” and “Serena” (NOT their real names) are doing fine. Venus (Baby A) was 2 pounds, 5 ounces, Serena (Baby B) was 2 pounds, 3 ounces. At the time they were both head down, but they turned again by the time of my doctor’s appointment on Monday this week.  The last two times I’ve been to my OB, Venus has been breech and lying (standing?) vertically along the right side of my body. Serena has been transverse, meaning she is lying horizonatally across the top of my body. Their heads are next to each other, and as my doctor says, it looks like they’re talking. Cute to see, but NOT a great position for delivery. Everyone please start hoping they line up heads down for me.

I’ll try to post ultrasound pictures when I have more time. Thanks for reading!

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 27: I don’t have gestational diabetes!

  1. Christopher Schulenberg says:

    Ica, you are the SMALLEST pregnant woman I have ever seen! Is that the Zoolander pregnant woman for ANTS?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

