Week 31: Happy Valentine’s Day

My husband and I have never really done anything “big” for Valentine’s Day. This is my fault, because after many years in my teens of being single (and honestly, very bitter) on Valetine’s Day, when we first got together, I told him that Valentine’s Day was stupid, and that we didn’t need to make a big deal over it. So began the tradition of not doing much, which seems a little silly 11 years down the road.

We did get to spend the afternoon and evening together, though. First I had a doctor’s appointment, and then we shared a heart-shaped pizza from Papa Johns. Now he’s planning lessons and I’ll be heading for bed so I can wake up at 3:30 a.m. and finish all of the work I didn’t get to at school because I left early for my appointment.

Speaking of appointments, we had an ultrasound on Friday, our fifth, I think, although I’ve honestly lost track.  “Venus” is 3 pounds 10 ounces, which is in the 55th percentile for development of babies this age. “Serena” is 3 pounds 4 ounces, which is the 36th percentile.  Twins are frequently smaller than single babies, but it appears that these kids are developing just fine. Unfortunately Venus was breech at the last appointment, and she will need to turn head down if we’re going to attempt a vaginal delivery.

I had another appointment with my OB today.  I get to see her every two weeks until about week 35, and then I think I’ll have to start coming in every week.  She pretty much just measures my belly, asks how I’m feeling, and then checks the babies’ heartbeats on her less sophisticated ultrasound machine. She said that at my next appointment she would probably start doing a vaginal exam as well. Oh goodie.

My stomach feels enormous now, as you can see in the following pictures:

 Week 30

Week 31

 

I feel like I look especially big in the week 30 picture. Maybe it’s just the position of the babies at the moment. I can’t imagine what 8 more weeks of growth is going to look like. My skin feels stretched to the max, and I am starting to get stretch marks now. Fortunately my back seems to be getting used to the additional weight, and I’m experiencing less back pain than I was a couple of weeks ago.

I’m also spending a lot of time sitting on our reclining couch. Pregnancy books all say to spend time laying on your side, but the most comfortable position for me seems to be sitting in a recliner. When I sleep on my side at night, the pressure on my stomach just doesn’t feel very good, and when I first wake up my stomach feels kind of sore for awhile.

I feel like every week I make it through work is a victory (even more so than usual) and I’m really hoping I can reach my goal of making it until April 1. I have a long-term substitute arranged now, and I’m hoping to really start getting things organized for him this coming weekend. Once the babies are here, I’m pretty sure they are the ONLY thing I’ll be thinking about, so I’d like to have everything as organized as possible at school before I leave. Unfortunately I don’t have the energy I’m used to having, so I haven’t been able to work very many hours on the weekends. We have an extra day this weekend for President’s Day, though, so I’m hoping I will get the gumption to take advantage of it and start getting things layed out.

The other interesting thing in the babies’ development is that sometimes I can see them move around when I look at my stomach.  I still have no idea which body part I’m feeling when something presses out against it, and I’m reminded a bit of that scene from Alien just before the alien jumps out of the man’s stomach, but it’s also kind of cool to experience. At this stage of pregnancy, I feel like there are very few “joys,” but this may be one of them.

Please keep your fingers crossed that the babies continue developing normally, my body continues to adjust and cope, and that I’m able to keep working normally for 7 more weeks (33 more school days.)

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 31: Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Kally says:

    You look great, Ica. I remember when I was pregnant with my son I saw his foot move clear across my belly toward the end. I had the Alien flashback too, but I could see it was a foot. Disconcerting and awesome at the same time. Thinking good thoughts for you and the babies. 🙂 Have you guys picked out real names yet or are you waiting til they’re here to name them?

    • Twins Happen says:

      Thanks, Kally! We don’t have real names yet. I’m looking through a baby name book, a few letters at a time, and writing down my favorites. We probably won’t name them for sure until they’re here and we can try them out a little.

Leave a Reply

