The first rough night

When I first found out I was pregnant, and then again when I found out I was having twins, I would wake up frequently throughout the night, and sometimes I wouldn’t be able to fall back asleep. I think this was mostly from nervousness and excitement than for any other reason.

As the babies started growing and exhaustion set in, though, I have had very little trouble sleeping. It’s only in the last few weeks that sleeping has become somewhat uncomfortable because lying on my side makes my stomach hurt. Usually I’m so tired, though, that it causes me very little trouble, and even when I wake up to go to the bathroom, I usually fall right back asleep.

Last night was the first time when sleep did not come easily, and I’m just hoping that the rest of my pregnancy isn’t going to be like this.  I took a nap yesterday afternoon from about 3 until 6, so that could have affected me. Will and I got into bed around 10. I read for awhile, and then I finally shut my light out around 11. Normally it takes me five minutes or less to fall asleep. After an hour, I got up and went to the bathroom, got a class of water, then lay down and tried again. I listened to a podcast, and I did drift off at some point, but I woke up before it was over, so I didn’t get to sleep very long. I went to the bathroom again, then lay down to try again.

I repeated this pattern several times, never sleeping for longer than two hours in a row. Each time I got up, my stomach felt sore, and my hip was sore on whichever side I had been sleeping on. I would switch sides when I got back into bed, but it didn’t seem to help much.

I finally woke up for good around 7 this morning.  Will and I don’t have school today because of President’s Day, but I do have a doctor’s appointment to be at in a little while, and then I need to go down to school and work to make up for the fact that I haven’t done ANYTHING yet this weekend. I know I will avoid a nap today, though, if I can possibly help it. I think being just a little bit sleep-deprived most of the time has been working in my favor as far as sleeping at night, and I want to enjoy my sleep while I can.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

