Snow Days

I love snow days. There is nothing better than unexpectedly finding out I have a day off, even though I usually end up using that day to get some work done, and even though I have to make it up later in the school year. This means that the result of any snow days is that I actually end up working MORE. That doesn’t seem to matter, though. I still crave them more than ice cream.

At some point this fall, the weather people all declared that because this is a “La Nina Year” (I know there should be a tilde over “Nina,” but I don’t actually know how to use it on my keyboard, sorry) we would be having one of the worst winters ever! The worst winter I’ve been through since we moved to Washington was 2006-2007, my first year of teaching in this school district.  We had school canceled a total of 10 days, and we ended up making up eight of them. Two were waived because there was a disaster declared in the state for flooding. Even though it was a little painful to be going to school an entire extra week at the end of June (the other three days were made up during the school year) it was always exciting to have those extra days “off.” Teaching was still really new to me at this time, so “off” really meant time to plan and get some extra sleep. But they were still really nice.

Since then, we’ve kind of fallen into a pattern of having some snow days every other year.  There were zero snow days the next year, three the year after that (right before Christmas break- these were truly the best snow days ever), and then none the year after that. When the weather people declared a “La Nina Year,” and possibly the worst winter weather in recent history, I was excited at the prospect of getting some days off.

The winter started off promising with a snow storm right before Thanksgiving. At the time, I wasn’t really hoping for days off.  Who needs extra days off during a two-and-a-half day work week? Not even I do.  But they were fun all the same.  Will and I walked Nieve in the snow. My cousins came over one day and helped me get caught up on grading.  We put up our Christmas decorations, and we watched Gremlins.  And I spent a lot of time on the couch playing Spider Solitaire. I was also hopeful that since the first snow storm had come so early, that there was potential for many more.

Only that was the last of it.  We had a tiny bit of snow over winter break, but nothing that would have canceled school had school been in session. I was hopeful that January would bring more snow, but then it didn’t.  We had one beautiful night of snow, but it changed to rain during the night and everything melted off by the morning as though it had never happened.

Now we’re most of the way through February without any significant snow as well. And the window for this “horrible winter” we were supposed to have is rapidly closing. However, last week we had just a few tiny snow flakes begin to fall from the sky, and this has gotten under my skin and caused me to check the weather OBSESSIVELY all weekend. There is currently a winter storm watch beginning Wednesday morning and lasting through Thursday night, and the 10 day forecast shows snow on Thursday.

This week is a four day week, and it should be easy enough to get through. Instead of just being happy that I had today off (for President’s Day) I have been constantly checking the weather, feeling like the longer the snow stays in the forecast, the more likely it is that it will actually come, which really isn’t true. Am I really so desperate for extra down time? Is it the fact that school was canceled a grand total of four days during my entire K-12 education that causes me to long for these so much? I really don’t know what my deal is. I wish I could just let it go, though, and not think about it. Then if the snow does happen to come, it will be a nice surprise. And if it doesn’t, I won’t go to school cranky and disappointed like I have a few other days this year.

I realize this topic is completely unrelated to pregnancy, but I was hoping that taking a few minutes to write about it would help me LET IT GO and get some more work done before I go to bed tonight. I’m not sure if I actually accomplished this, though, because all I want to do is check the weather again. Ugh.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

