Week 33: Questions I don’t know the answers to

As I’m nearing the end of my pregnancy, people are asking a lot of questions that I still don’t have good answers for:

When are you due? -Technically April 23, but my doctor won’t let me go past April 15, and twins tend to come early as it is, so in theory it could be anytime two weeks from now until the due date.  But that’s a  long-winded answer.

Do you have their names yet? – No. And if we did, we wouldn’t want to tell anyone for fear of hearing a bunch of “You’re going to name them that?!? Don’t name them that!!

Are you going to deliver naturally? – By naturally, I assume they mean vaginally. I don’t know. It all depends on how the babies are positioned when I go into labor… and we know from above that I don’t know when that will be.

How long are you going to be at work? – Hopefully April 1. Again, if they come early, then I’ll be gone sooner.

Work is probably stressing me out the most at the moment.  I’m trying to get my sub plans together, and it is a lot of work.  I’ll be missing the last 10 weeks of the school year, so I’m trying to get at least a general outline worked out for my replacement. Before I knew we were having twins, I had thought I would have spring break to get my sub plans together. Unfortunately I really can’t count on having that time, so I’m trying to get it done a little at a time.  I finally got started this weekend, but I’m really not very far yet.  I’m really hoping I’ll get the next few weekends to finish getting everything ready.

Other than that, things seem to be going well in the pregnancy. It’s become uncomfortable to sleep at night because my stomach is so big now, it kind of aches when I first lay down, when I get up again, or if I even roll over.  It started about two weeks ago. As with many of the ailments of pregnancy, though, I think my body is starting to get a little used to it. The last two nights haven’t been quite as bad. So either my threshold for pain is increasing, or I have some stomach muscles left somewhere that are developing to compensate.

As my stomach continues to grow, it also continues to get in the way in ways I wouldn’t have thought about. I’m used to grading on the couch and holding a folder in my lap.  Now there’s really no good place to put the papers and still be able to write on them, so I’m having to do more at the table or at my desk, which is harder on my back than sitting on the couch is.

My activity level has really decreased. I’m not exactly sure when it happened, but I’ve gone from making sure I walk Nieve for at least a little while every day to only a few times a week. I haven’t been this inactive since before we got Nieve five years ago. I don’t really have a good reason, either. Walking is still relatively comfortable, I just feel tired and lazy a lot of the time, so I end up not leaving the house once I’m home. Our cold weather probably hasn’t helped either.

Since the shower last weekend, we’ve made some progress as far as getting baby things ready. Because of money and gift cards we received from friends and family, we were able to buy the crib mattresses and crib sheets. Will bought those on Friday, washed them, and they’re on the cribs, ready to go. We also have some of the supplies set up on the changing table, although we still need to buy more newborn diapers.

Will’s parents bought us a double stroller and infant car seats. We also bought another set of bases for the car seats, so the babies will be able to ride in both cars.

We’re getting there. There’s definitely more to do, but hopefully we have at least another month to get there. Babies, I’m excited to meet you, just not quite yet.

I have another doctor’s appointment with my OB tomorrow. Hopefully everything will be fine, and we’ll still have about 6 weeks to go.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

