Pregnancy weight-gain is weird

I have almost gained 25 pounds now, and by tomorrow, I probably will have. I didn’t gain very much weight for the first half of my pregnancy, but the weight gain has rapidly increased since Christmas. If I were to graph it, I would be slightly alarmed at the increasing steepness of the line.

What’s strange though, is that I really don’t FEEL like I’ve gained weight, other than in my stomach, of course.  I know my body is overall a little bigger because I’ve needed to buy larger undergarments, but for the most part, the rest of my body feels the same.  I feel like my face looks the same, my arms look the same, and my legs mostly look the same.  It just seems like someone took 25 pounds and put them directly in my stomach. It makes me wonder what I’ll look like once these babies come out, and how long it will be until I feel normal again, since I don’t feel that abnormal now.

Or maybe I am just in a state of denial so that I don’t have to be upset about gaining 25 pounds and knowing that I have about 10 more to go.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pregnancy weight-gain is weird

  1. Kasey says:

    Only gaining 25 so far is fantastic! I only had one baby at a time, and I gained more than that. No wonder it is just belly weight. Hard to believe you are almost done.

  2. Twins Happen says:

    Thanks for the encouragement, Kasey. 🙂 I can’t believe I’m this close either. It has gone really fast.

  3. Kally says:

    As much as I absolutely love you, I hate you, Ica. 25 pounds?! With my first (single) I gained 80….and let me tell ya, it DEFINATELY wasn’t all in my stomach. I was actually told by a friend of the family that I was carrying the baby in my butt. With friends like that… Anyway, I’m incredibly proud of you for the weight and staying healthy and working. The energy will come back. It won’t be back the day after delivery, but it’ll come back. Keep up the good work, my friend!

Leave a Reply

