Week 36: When would you stop going to work?

Everyone seems to be asking me if I’m still going to work.  The answer is yes.  And unless something is wrong at my doctor’s appointment tomorrow, like my blood pressure is too high or my cervix has started to dialate, I will continue to go to work. These are probably not my best teaching days, but my kids are going to spend 10 weeks with a sub as it is. I think it’s worthwhile to stay as long as I can, both for them and for me.

While the weekends are really nice to get some sleep, and I kind of wish I didn’t have to go to work tomorrow, I tend to dwell a lot more on being pregnant and the negative symptoms when I’m not at work. Last night my sister and her husband came over for dinner. After dinner we watched a movie, and all I could think about the whole time is how miserable I’m starting to feel. Whereas when I was at school that morning working on my sub plans, I didn’t think about it at all. The thought of having nothing to do seems nice, but in actuallity probably wouldn’t be very good for me.

The good news is that even if I do have to leave work earlier than I want to, at this point I would have enough sick and personal leave to finish out the school year.  But I’m still hoping that I’ll be able to make it. I do have to wonder, though, if I was in a different job where I didn’t have to make all of the plans for when I was going to be gone, would I have chosen to leave already? How long would I choose to stay if it really was a choice?

Please keep your fingers crossed for me that everything goes fine at my doctor’s appointment tomorrow. And while we’re hoping, let’s go ahead and hope that the babies have turned. Although I can pretty much feel where they are now, and nothing feels different from the ultrasound on Thursday, where Baby A was still breech.

I’m continuing to deal with swelling and heartburn, but there haven’t really been any new symptoms this week. I haven’t measured myself to see how much I’ve grown in the last two weeks, either. I’m a little scared to. I can see that it’s quite big. But hopefully I’ve only got about three weeks left to go.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

