Week 37: I can’t believe I’ve made it this far

My appointment on Monday went just fine, and I finished another week of work. I have five school days left to go until spring break, essays to grade, quarter grades to post, and a newspaper to put out, not to mention my sub plans to finish up.  But hopefully it’s all going to come together this week.

My hands started swelling a little bit this week too, and I can no longer wear my wedding ring. Also, my right hand goes numb easily and feels just a little bit tingly much of the time. I googled this symptom to see if it was worth calling my doctor about. It just began on Wednesday. Apparently it’s probably carpal tunnel, brought on by pregnancy, and is very common. So I didn’t call my doctor, but I will mention it at my next appointment on Monday. I just hope that since I’ve made it this far that I’ll be able to keep going. I’m not sure we’ll get the last newspaper out if I end up on bed rest.  And I know it won’t happen (at least not on time) if the babies have to be born early.

Baby A was still breech at my last appointment, so my doctor scheduled my C-section. She wanted to schedule it for April 8, but I’ve had several people caution me against going into the hospital on a Friday, only to have the staff change the very next day, and also risk people like lactation consultants not being available. I asked if we could do it Thursday instead. My doctor doesn’t work on Thursdays, though, so she said we could schedule it for Wednesday the 6th.  At this point, I will be 37.5 weeks pregnant. I guess for any pregnancy, 37 weeks is considered full term. And with twins, doctors don’t like them to go beyond 38 weeks because they can get big enough to cause complications for the mother. I  just hope we’re not risking anything by pulling them out early.

I can’t remember if I wrote about the final growth ultrasound or not, but each baby weighed almost 6 pounds at the time. Baby A was 5 pounds 14 ounces, Baby B was 5 pounds 12 ounces. So these babies are good sized, just over the 50th percentile for any babies, not just for twins. So I’m hoping they are well enough developed that they’ll be ready to go on their birthday, and we won’t have to stay at the hospital longer than the standard 3 days.

At this point, the babies will be here in less than two weeks. I can’t believe how quickly time is passing, and I can’t believe that I’m almost done. It’s very strange to think that I’m going to become a mother, a mother of TWO, very soon. I dream about the babies being born almost every night. I wonder what they’re going to look like. I wonder if I’ll be able to tell them apart. And I wonder if everything will be ready by the time they get here.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 37: I can’t believe I’ve made it this far

  1. Medina says:

    I am SO happy to hear that the babies are both a fantastic size & that they’ll be “technically” full-term! That’s wonderful news! You’ll be exhausted, no doubt once they’re here, but there is nothing quite like holding a newborn (or two!) and looking at the faces you’ve wondered about, probably since the day you and Will decided to get married & eventually have babies! 🙂 Wish I were closer to help you out. But I can’t express how excited I am for you, Will, and the new family you will have in 2 weeks!! Love you all!

Leave a Reply

