How to not care that you’re turning 30

Get pregnant with twins when you’re 29.

In all seriousness, though, I have barely thought about my birthday at all. Normally around this time of year I think about my goals and things I still want to accomplish. I think about how my life is different from how I had expected it to be when I was younger. This year, I’ve had no time for that. It’s randomly occured to me a few times over the last month that, oh yes, my birthday is this month, but then the thought is gone as I’m preoccupied with other things.

I have two days left of school. I still have essays to grade in 4 classes and portfolios in one.  I still have sub plans to do for one entire class and a few things to get ready for my other two classes. I have spent several evenings these past two weeks trying to get a hold of parents who have students with failing grades, since I won’t be around to take their late assignments after spring break.

I wish I was more prepared, but I really feel like I’ve done everything I can to be prepared. I started on my sub plans five weeks ago, and it would have been really difficult to start much earlier than that. There is just not enough time to get everything done. Hopefully these babies will stay put for another week and I’ll come as close as I can.

My birthday is tomorrrow, and I will likely be at the school until 7 or 8 at night while my students finish up the newspaper, and I work on getting my third quarter grades ready to post. Turning 30? NBD.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

