Week 38: There will be no week 39

Today makes 37 weeks complete, although my doctor’s records say Thursday was 37 weeks complete.  I’m not sure two days really makes a difference, but since I’ve been going by my dates all along, I’ll continue to do so.

We have four more babyless days, assuming these babies stay put. I still have a lot to finish up for school, so I’m hoping they will.

Yesterday was my last day at work, and also the last day of school before spring break.  I’m really glad that spring break fell when it did, because there is no way I would be able to make myself get up and go to work on Monday. Work didn’t become too difficult until this week. As I’ve said, a couple of weeks ago, the swelling in my ankles started getting bad. Last week, my hands started kind of going numb. And then on Thursday this week, I couldn’t even get my feet to fit into my shoes.  I ended up having to wear my Teva sandals, and I could barely velcro them closed.

I didn’t really understand why I would have to leave work early, short of going into early labor, but after getting through this week, it makes a lot more sense. I feel really lucky that these last few super annoying and uncomfortable symptoms waited this long to show up.

I wish I could say that we’ve got everything ready to go here, but we don’t.  I still have to finish writing up my sub plans, especially for journalism, and I have to grade some papers before I can post third quarter grades.  And that’s only for school. We still have stacks of baby clothes that people have given us in this last week that we need to find places for. Plus I should probably try to clean my house at least once more before the babies come, because who knows when I’ll have the chance to do it again?

So we are busy, busy, busy. And it is just surreal that in 4 days we’ll be heading to the hospital to bring TWO babies into the world. Reality has not sunken in yet… and I’m not sure when it will. On the way to the hospital? After they’re here? When we’re bringing them home?

I’m not sure when I’ll have the chance to update again. Maybe once more before we head for the hospital, maybe not until we’re back home again. Thanks to all of you who have encouraged me along the way. I can’t believe how quickly it’s gone. And I can’t believe it’s almost over.

Week 37 3/29/2011

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 38: There will be no week 39

  1. katiebug says:

    We’re sending the happiest possible thoughts your way. Enjoy the final baby-free days!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Ica, you’ve done an awesome job making those babies wait until their birthday! I’m sorry it’s been so uncomfortable for you. The good news is that in less than three hours you’ll be at the hospital having your C-section. I hope you were able to get some well deserved rest. Don’t be afraid to ask for help, as everyone is more than willing to help you and Will, so you can heal from your C-section and sleep. You’ll be a great Mommy!

Leave a Reply

