As promised: Baby Alligators

For about a week after my c-section, I was on oxy-codone. This, combined with sleep deprivation, resulted in some VERY strange dreams. In one of them I was at a park in Austin that Will and I went to last summer when we visited our friend Paul there. There was one strange thing about the park, though. It was infested with tiny little alligators that kept trying to bite me everywhere. 

Can you guess what might have influenced this dream? If you’re thinking breastfeeding you are correct!

Very fortunately, so far I have been able to exclusively breast feed my twins. While I was pregnant, I thought that breastfeeding would be something I would enjoy doing. I imagined it being special time to bond with the babies. That novelty lasted maybe four days. After that my nipples hurt, my arms hurt, and I was really freaking tired of having to nurse them every 90 minutes or so.

I have tried nursing them both together and apart. Together is tricky because I have to make sure both babies keep feeding (they sometimes fall asleep at the breast, and if i don’t catch it right away, they will inevitably spit up into my lap) and it’s REALLY difficult to burp them without help. But it is a time savor.  At night Will and I can have both babies changed, fed, burped, and back to sleep in about 45 minutes.

Feeding the babies apart is much easier, and could even be somewhat relaxing if it weren’t for the fact that I usually have either one hungry baby waiting frantically for her turn or one baby full of spit up who’s annoyed that she was shorted on her burp and snuggle time. It also takes a REALLY long time, usually 90 minutes or more.

When Will’s here, I feed them together.  He usually changes the first baby’s diaper, gives her to me to get started nursing, then changes the second one, brings her over, and then stands by until the first one is done and he can burp her. I burp the second baby, and then we can get on with the next business of the day. When I’m alone, though, I almost always feed them separately. It’s just too difficult to try and burp one baby while the other finishes or to burp them at the same time. I have tried it, but it usually results in Siren spitting up Exorcist-style and me needing to take a shower.

Even though I’m feeling kind of tired of breastfeeding, I’m sticking with it for as long as I can. Not too many things come naturally to me, but one thing my body seems to be good at is making milk, and for that I’m very thankful.

The babies are 7 weeks old now, and I’ve been taking care of them on my own during the day for about 4 weeks. One thing I wish I would have done more of when I was still pregnant is learn about daily routines for twins. I feel like I’m really struggling to get them to nap together, and then I’m constantly wondering if they’re getting enough sleep and when they’re awake, if they’re getting enough interaction and stimulation. I’m reading various books when I can, and I started trying to get on a feeding schedule this week. I can’t say for sure if it’s helping yet, but I feel like it is.

Borrowing an idea from one of my friends who blogs, on Monday this week I took notes on our daily activities. I will try to write it up into a post soon. Seeing the craziness down on paper is what really motivated me to try and figure out some sort of daily routine. It’s just too hard to feed them whenever they seem to want to eat. And it is absolutely heartbreaking to have one baby napping while the other one is awake and just won’t go to sleep. If I’m going to maintain any sanity at all I need them to nap together, at least sometimes.

Now that the essays are FINALLY done, I will do my best to write more regularly. It really is hard to find time to get on the computer most days, though. If the babies do happen to be napping together, I usually abandon everything else and lie down to sleep. Hopefully figuring out a schedule will help me find a few more minutes of free time during the day.

Post to come: 24 hours with twins, before the schedule

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to As promised: Baby Alligators

  1. Kasey says:

    So glad to read your updates. Getting one baby on a schedule is hard, two would be even more so! I highly recommend the book On becoming Babywise by Gary Ezzo. It relieved so much stress for me as to WHY my baby cried, and what he needed, so I didn’t feel like I was offering to nurse every other minute. It really helps regulate their sleep. There is a small section in the book about feeding twins also. (I gave my copy away, otherwise I would send it to you!) Your girls are absolutely beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

