15 weeks old

I have wanted to post a lot in the last few weeks, but it’s hard to find time to get onto the computer.  The babies are sleeping better at night, and they usually take two fairly predictable naps. You would think this would give me more time to get things done, especially since Will’s home for the summer. But I find that I usually use that time to either catch up on chores or to read one of the many books I’ve been reading about twins, hoping I will find some time-saving (or sanity-saving) tips that I haven’t already discovered or read about. I’ve read a lot of books, but haven’t really found any great answers so far.

Our daily routine pretty much looks like this: The babies wake up to eat for the second or third time of the night anywhere between 5 and 7 a.m.  We change and feed them, and then can usually go back to sleep for another hour. About an hour after waking up, the babies usually take a morning nap (and lately it’s been at the same time!) for about 35 minutes.  I usually use this time to unload the dishwasher from the night before, clean up breakfast dishes, and drink a cup of chai tea.

After their nap, we usually put the babies on their play mat.  Their favorite toy right now is their Baby Einstein Star, which was given to us by one of Will’s old co-workers.  It plays music and lights up, and they just love it.  Will or I usually sit by them while they play, and the other person takes a shower and gets ready, and then we switch.

The babies eat again around noon, and they usually take a nap shortly after that. If we’re lucky it’s an hour, but sometimes it’s only about 30 minutes.  Fortunatley they’ve been doing that together lately too.

After they wake up, we usually have some more play time.  Sometimes we’ll take Nieve for a walk with them in the stroller.  They eat again at 3 and then at 6.

At 6 they begin to get fussy, and they can’t stay on one activity for very much time.  Lately we’ve been putting them in the swings, and they’ll be content for 30 minutes or so.  Unfortunately they usually fall asleep, and they really shouldn’t be napping after 6 p.m., they should be going to bed instead! 

Bed time is probably our biggest struggle.  Usually around 8 we’ll put them in their Halo Sleep Sacks, change and feed them one more time, and then we each take a baby and try to get her to fall asleep.  Every sleep book stresses the importance of a bedtime routine. We’ve tried lots of different things, baths, lullaby music, singing, walking around, and rocking. Nothing works all of the time, and it’s usually a combination of several of these that finally gets the babies to sleep.  They’re usually asleep by 9, and on tough nights, by 10.

We’ve tried having bedtime earlier, but I’ve literally spent from 6:30 until 10 trying to get the babies to go to sleep and stay asleep.  Also, when they go to sleep around 8 or 9, they usually make it until 2 or 3 before waking up to eat. If they go to sleep around 7, they wake up again at 10 or 11.

So our routine is working for now. In another month, Will and I will both be going back to teaching, and then we’ll have to figure something else out. The babies will be in daycare from about 6:30 a.m. until 11:30 a.m. I am teaching three class periods a day, and then I’ll pick up the babies and be with them until Will gets home around 3 or 4. I’m hoping they’ll keep taking their afternoon nap so I’ll have a chance to get some work done. I’m teaching English 10, which I have taught EVERY year, so I have a pretty good curriculum layed out. But we’re using a new textbook this year, so I will have to do some additional planning. And there’s always the essay grading.

I feel good about our daycare arrangement for this year, but I’m really not sure what we’ll do after this. It’s hard to work “part-time” in education. Another teacher is taking journalism for me this year, but I doubt he’ll want to do it two years in a row. I know I will also lose some “good-will” from my coworkers if I want to work part-time for more than a year. There is just too much work for teachers to get done, and everyone needs to do their fair share to keep good feelings among the group. I understand this.  I also know that I really don’t like the idea of my children being in daycare for 8 or 9 hours a day, which is how long they’ll be there if I go back to work fulltime. 

Fortunately I have about a year to decide what we’ll do. So hopefully we’ll figure out something that will work.

Anyway, the babies are up from their morning nap, and it’s bathtime. Here are some pictures for those of you who read to the end!

Siren and Imogen - 3 months oldImmy and me

 

Immy and me

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 15 weeks old

  1. Jodie says:

    I read to the end :-p

Leave a Reply

