4 months and baby stuff

I will post their 4 month pictures soon, but I am on my phone right now, not the computer. The babies had their 4 month vaccines today, so they need some extra holding and snuggling, which means I am sticking pretty close by.

Since we are 4 months into this, I thought I would let you know about the baby products and advice that I have found the most helpful. Unfortunately I’m not very adept at wordpress yet, so I can’t link to anything, but I will try to give you enough information so you can find what I’m talking about. If you want more information about any of this stuff, feel free to ask me.

So here is some helpful “baby stuff” in no particular order:

1- “G” Diapers. I first learned about G Diapers from my friend Jessi in Missoula. They are a great blend of a washable and disposable diaper. The outside (G pants) is cloth and washable. The insert is disposable AND biodegradable. So you get to throw away the icky part, and you aren’t filling up a landfill with plastic. We typically have about 14 G pants of a particular size, and this seems to be enough for two babies if we do laundry every few days. We may end up needing to buy some extra pants once the babies start going to daycare. We buy the G Pants at Babies R Us, where they are sold in sets of two and are slightly cheaper than buying them individually online. We usually buy the inserts from diapers.com, but we also pick them up at Babies R Us sometimes. Overall they are slightly more expensive than most disposable diapers, but they have been great leak-wise (as in, we’ve had very few leaks) and we’ve had no problems with diaper rash. So far, we love these diapers!

2- Bouncy seats. These are oval shaped seats that keep the babies at an incline and have a button that makes the seat vibrate. (They use AA batteries.) I’m not sure what brand we have, and I’m not sure it matters. These were invaluable to me when I was taking care of the babies by myself. They give me a place to set the babies down, which I especially needed after breastfeeding. The first two months the babies took almost all of their naps in their bouncy seats. It saved me from having to constantly run up and down the stairs. They are also great to set the babies in while I’m taking a shower or cooking because they allow the babies to be close by without me having to actually hold them.

3- Halo Sleep Sacks. The babies sleep better and longer when they are swaddled. When the babies wake up at night we change their diapers, feed them, and then swaddle them to go back to sleep. After a couple of weeks, though, the babies would be asleep after nursing, but would wake up again while being swaddled. The sleep sacks have a swaddle wrap that simply velcroes around the baby’s arms. Using these let us swaddle the babies without waking them up again. These were a real life saver!

4- The five “S”s from The Happiest Baby on the Block by Dr. Harvey Karp. You can either read the book or watch the video. These are basically five techniques you can use to calm a crying baby. They really do work like magic.

5- Itzbeen Timers – this is a device that has 4 timers on it. We use three of them all of the time: diaper, feeding, and sleep.  The timers count up, so you know how long “it’s been” since you last changed or fed the babies. Or to know how long the babies have been asleep or awake. These are especially helpful with two babies, but I would probably use it even if I just had one.

** I started this post on Monday, and now it’s Friday. I guess I should call it good and just put it up. I’ll try to post more about helpful baby products as I think of them.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

