Recent Developments

I’m writing from my phone again. Let’s see if I can get an entry written and posted before nap time ends.

The babies have been sleeping better at night. And by better, I mean for longer stretches. Both girls pulled off a 7.5 hour stretch and then an 8 hour stretch last week. Since then, Imogen has had two 8 hour nights, and another 7.5 hour stretch last night. Siren is not doing quite as well. She had the two good nights, but since then it’s back to 4 and 5 hour stretches.

And while we’ve been getting some good chunks of sleep, getting the babies to go to bed is still INCREDIBLY difficult. We usually feed them around 6 or 7 p.m. and start trying to get them to wind down after that. No more play time, we turn out the lights, we put on their lullaby CD. They usually start falling asleep around 8. We try to put them in their cribs WHILE they are falling asleep. Sometimes we set them down, they start crying, and we have to pick them up again. Other times we set them down and they sleep for a few minutes, but then they wake up and cry, and we have to go up and get them and start over. Lately it has taken Imogen a couple of times before she goes down for the night, but it has been more difficult with Siren. I think she woke up 5 times last night before going to sleep for good. Unfortunately, this means bed time is exhausting for both babies and parents.

Nap time is a smaller version of this. When we see the babies start to get tired, we swaddle them and hold them until they start getting droopy-eyed. Then we bring them to their cribs. When Will and I are both around, it goes fairly smoothly. If only one of us is home, though, there are usually some tears and it may take two or three attempts to get them down for their naps. This wouldn’t be so bad except that nap time is SHORT. Sometimes only 30 minutes, usually around 40, and up to 55 minutes if we’re lucky.

And of course, any resemblance of a routine that we have down could go out the window in two weeks when we both go back to work.

I am excited to work with students again, to interact with other adults, and to have something else to think about besides nap schedules and bed

time routines. I am not excited to have to wake up early or to figure out when I’m going to grade and plan. The good news is I only have one prep, 10th grade English. So hopefully this school year will require less extra time after school than in years past. But I feel like I’m giving up all

free time until winter break.

Anyway, I am very fortunate to have been able to spend the first 4.5 months home with my girls, and to have my husband home for 6 weeks of that this summer. That’s more time than many parents get, and for that I am grateful.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recent Developments

  1. Kasey says:

    It may sound a little harsh, but I recommend letting them cry themselves to sleep. It is so exhausting to try to time it just right to put an almost asleep baby in bed without startling them back awake. I’m sure it is tricky with twins, but maybe even have them sleep in seperate rooms if possible until they are used to it. Lay them down awake, but ready for naptime or bed, and let them fall asleep on their own. Yes, they will cry. And it’s horrible to listen to. But it gets better fast! With my second, she cried for 2 hours. It was awful. But the next night, she cried for 10 minutes. The night after, 5. And then never again. She would talk, sing, and sigh herself to sleep. She shared a room with her brother, so while we were getting her used to it, she slept in the portable crib in the living room. Good luck!

    • Twins Happen says:

      Thanks for the advice. I have been reading a TON about baby sleep, and I’m trying everything I can think of before I try letting them cry it out. It may come to that, though.

Leave a Reply

