Sleep training night 5

We had another excellent night last night. The babies fell asleep nursing around 6:30. Technically we should be working out a way for them to end nursing still awake and then to fall asleep in their cribs, but I’m not worried about this yet. Around 7 there was some crying. We started with 7 minutes yesterday, and had to go in and check after that. Then we would have let them cry for 10 minutes, but they fell asleep before we reached that point.

Naps went well today too. The babies woke up at 4:00, nursed, then went right back to sleep. They woke up for the day at 7:00. I nursed them at 9, which is their morning nap time. Imogen fell asleep; Siren didn’t. Will put Imogen in her crib and she stayed asleep. I sat with Siren until her eyes started to droop. Then I took her upstairs and layed her in the crib. Her eyes fluttered open, but I put my hand lightly on her belly and she fell asleep. Imogen woke up after 30 minutes, but Siren slept for 90!

The afternoon nap didn’t go quite as well. We layed them in their cribs around 1:15 when they were all but asleep. They both woke up crying. We did a check after 10 minutes and would have done another after 12, but they fell asleep before that. They only slept about 30 minutes, but I’ll take it!

The babies acted sleepy most of the afternoon. They never became tired enough to fall asleep, though. We nursed at 6, and they both fell asleep. We were able to get them both into the crib without them waking up, but Imogen woke up around 7. We let her cry for 10 minutes. Will went in to check on her. When he put her down, she started crying again, but she stopped very shortly after that. We heard her on the monitor a couple of minutes later, so we set the timer. After a minute we heard two babies, so Siren woke up too, but they were both quiet before the timer reached 5 minutes. It’s only 8:30 now, so they could wake up again, but hopefully they are down for the night!

I’m not reporting this to try to convince anyone. I mostly just want the documentation for myself. Every time we have to let them cry I feel horrible, and I fear that it’s not going to work. But so far, so good. And my life will be so dramatically different if I don’t have to spend an hour every afternoon and 3+ hours every night nursing babies and trying to get them to go to sleep.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

