Snaggle in the sleep-training

My babies are terrible nappers. They will be so tired, and so cranky, but then they will only nap for 20 or 30 minutes. The other day I was looking up breastfeeding schedules for 10 month olds because I am still feeding them every three hours, and I would like to figure out how to spread it out more, but that’s another story. I had to stop looking, though, because I got too frustrated reading about other people whose babies nap from 9-10:30 and from 1-3. Why the heck won’t my babies do that? Ever? Of course I could nurse at 12 and then again at 4 if they slept for 2 hours in the middle.

Sleep training was going really well for us, but then Imogen got sick. And then she got sick again two weeks later. And then Siren got sick. And then the babies’ top teeth started coming in. And now we’re back to the babies waking up several times a night, not wanting to nap, and I am never sure how long I should let them cry in case they really are in pain from their teeth, instead of just not wanting to sleep.

Going to bed initially is still a lot better. The babies usually get tired around 6 or 6:30, nurse and then go to sleep. Sometimes they cry for just a minute or two when we put them in the crib, but then they usually go right to sleep.

They started waking up around 1 or 2 in the morning, instead of making it until 3 or 4. We change them, feed them, but then they have started crying when we go to put them back in the crib. Unfortunately this wakes up the other baby, so then we have to change and feed her, and then she will cry when we go to put her back in the crib, which wakes up the first baby (if we’ve managed to get her back to sleep.) And this is all happening when we are most tired, desperate to get back to sleep, and have to wake up for the day at 4:30. 😦

I’m not sure where to go from here. I just know we’re getting more and more desperate for sleep.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snaggle in the sleep-training

  1. Jodie says:

    You should bring them over to their aunt and uncle’s new house and they can spend the night with us! Then you’ll get lots of sleep 🙂

Leave a Reply

