Swimming Lessons and the nap time situation

Today we signed the babies up for their first swimming lessons.  Hurray! This was one of those things I always pictured myself doing once I became a mother.  I loved swimming as a kid, and I hope the babies will love it too!

Will bought them swim suits, so we took some pictures of those today.  Here are a couple:

Imogen (pink) and Siren (blue)

 

Siren (left) and Imogen (right)

I’ve come up with a solution to the babies not napping.  Now after lunch, I put them in their bouncy seats, give them their blankets, and then I lie down on the couch next to them. The good news is this way we all get a nap, and they’ve been sleeping up to 2 hours! They haven’t taken naps that long since they were little, little babies.

The bad news is that I HAVE to sleep next to them.  If I get up, they seem to hear me and wake up too.  Also, the bouncy seats can only hold them up to 25 pounds.  They are not quite 20 pounds now, so we have a ways to go, but I’m going to have to find another solution before too long.

They are sleeping pretty well at night now.  They usually are asleep by 7 and stay asleep until 3 or 4 in the morning when Imogen wakes up.  We can usually change and feed her and get her to go back to sleep without trouble.  Siren typically wakes up a short while later, though. (4:30 if she hears our alarms. She made it to 5:45 today.) And if she doesn’t wake Imogen up with her cries, Immy wakes up when we come in the room. And then bedtime is over for at least one of us.  On the whole we’re getting a lot more sleep, though, and more time in the evenings to get school work done.  If I could get the babies to nap in their cribs (for more than 20 minutes) I would be a happy camper.  In the meantime, I am grateful that they are at least sleeping.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

