1 year old

I wish I had pictures ready to post, but I never seem to make it on my computer any more, except for work. Hopefully I can get on kind of soon(ish) and post some of the girls’ 1 year photos and pictures from their birthday party. In the meantime, here are some quick thoughts:

1 – If you want to have a birthday party for your baby’s first birthday, do it. It was a lot of work, but it was fun work. And it was so nice to have our family and friends here to celebrate. And if it goes terribly, your baby won’t remember. So no worries!

2 – Sleep training is easier the second time around. Imogen was sick for almost two weeks with an unknown bug that FINALLY seemed to improve when she started taking amoxicillin. Right after she got well, both girls came down with a virus of some sort that caused a bad cough, throwing up, runny nose, etc. As uncomfortable as I am with letting the girls “cry it out,” we did not force them to sleep in their cribs during this time. Most nights they slept in their bouncy seats next to our beds, and some nights they slept with us, either in the bed or on the couch. I was dreading having to put them back in their cribs, but I was really over having two tiny roommates. When the girls were FINALLY well, we resumed sleeping in the crib and the crying it out with periodic checks. Tonight is the third night, and I already feel so much better. Siren went to bed after 7 minutes of crying, and Imogen after just a couple of minutes. The girls aren’t traumatized, and we’re all getting better sleep again.

3 – I made it through one year of breastfeeding twins and never had to use formula! I can’t even fully articulate why this was a goal of mine, but it was, and I did it, and I’m happy.

4 – I’m realizing now that there are lots of things I need to learn more about. I have no idea how to transition away from breastfeeding, how to get our girls onto more solid foods (with the exception of a few puffs, everything they eat is still pureed) how to get them to nap in their cribs instead of their bouncy seats, what kind of developmental games or activities we should be working on… the list could go on and on. There is a LOT I don’t know about having 1 year olds. So I guess it’s time to learn.

5- Above all else, I am so grateful. I am constantly overcome by how much love I have for our children. I feel so lucky to have my family, and for all of the love and support that other people have shown us. My babies are loved, and I am so thankful for it.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

