It happens so fast

Just when I thought we would be spoonfeeding them pureed food until kindergarten, it changed.  The girls are eating LOTS of finger foods now: shredded cheese, pancakes, casadillas, cheerios, watermelon, apples, pears, banana slices, and tonight- chicken.  We have tried pureed chicken a few times, and they HATED it, but tonight Will brought home a rotissary chicken from Fred Meyer, and just for the fun of it, I cut off a few very tiny pieces and put them on Siren’s high chair tray.  Will did the same with Imogen.  And very surprisingly, they both ate them and then wanted more.  Normally with a new food, it takes a few times before the girls will eat very much, but they ate the chicken right up like old pros.  I couldn’t believe it.  Now, about 3 weeks after their first birthday, I don’t have to scoff any more when I hear people say, “At a year, they can just eat what you eat.”  On their birthday, as the girls stared and poked at their cupcakes, not sure what to do with them and NOT about to try putting them in their mouths, we felt SO FAR from this stage.  And yet, here we are.

It was also REALLY nice to all sit together and eat as a family.  Normally I have a snack around 4 and start making the girls’ dinner.  I may have a few bites of whatever I’m making for them, especially if they don’t eat it all, but a few pieces of asparagus or bites of pureed spinach don’t even begin to resemble dinner.  We usually get the girls to bed by 7 or 7:30, and then Will and I try to figure out what to make for OUR dinner.  Sometimes it’s as late as 9:00 before we’re eating it. 

I’ve tried to make our dinner as I make food for the girls, but since most of what we eat isn’t the same, it hasn’t really worked very well so far.  And if Will isn’t home to start feeding the girls right at 4:30, it’s impossible.  They get too hungry and cranky, and I end up giving them whatever is fastest and easiest, usually frozen cubes of pureed sweet potato or cauliflower.

They have only been able to eat finger food without CLOSE supervision for the last couple of weeks, so being able to eat WHILE they eat hasn’t been possible until now.  And now that they’re actually able to eat some of the same food that we’re eating… maybe just maybe we can start all having dinner together.

I have been really late in getting any pictures from their birthday up. I am trying now, but am not having any luck.  Hopefully I will get them up soon!

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

