14 Months

It’s been awhile since I’ve written.  School is keeping me extremely busy.  I wanted to take a few minutes and write about the babies’ developments and routines, though, so I will remember it down the road.

We’re STILL not sleeping all the way through the night.  Imogen typically wakes up between 3 and 4:30. On a week day we wake up Siren too, since I have to get up at 4:45, and I’ll run late if I have to feed her after that.  On the weekend, Will changes Immy’s diaper, and I feed her, and she goes back to sleep.  Siren usually wakes up around 5:30, or one time so far she has made it to 6:00.  Then I usually get up with the babies for the day.

I’m not sure what to do to help Imogen get through the night.  I know we could try letting her cry for 5 minutes or so to see if she’d go back to sleep, but since the girls usually go to bed at 6:30 or 7, I feel like an 8 hour stretch is enough to ask for.  Her diaper is usually really wet too, and after the scare with what the doctor thought was a bladder infection, I feel like we should at least change her diaper.  On the other hand, I know that waking up and getting herself back to sleep is an important skill to learn.  So until I figure out what to do, we change, feed, and put back to sleep.

The babies just stopped taking a morning nap consistently this past week.  They aren’t sleeping any longer in the afternoon than they were before, though, so I can’t say it’s an improvement.  Instead, the girls start to get very fussy before lunch, and they often fall asleep during lunch.  I’m hoping the transition period is just a little tough and that they’ll adjust, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Both of the girls have been able to take a few steps for awhile now, beginning around the end of May.  This last week, though, Siren has made big progress, and she can now walk short distances, like across the room.  Imogen has started taking a few steps on her own (before we always had to sit a short distance away and encourage her.)  Walking is very exciting, but of course it leads to a new set of problems.  The girls can get into a lot more stuff now, and they can get away from us a lot faster. We have yet to turn them loose outside, and I can only imagine what that will be like.

I am still nursing, but I’m not sure how much longer I will continue. My initial thinking was through the summer, and then to quit once I return to work full-time. There are days when I am really tired of it, though, so I may decide to stop sooner than that. The girls are very content to drink cow’s milk, so I’m not sure they’ll notice much when I decide to stop.

They are able to eat a lot more finger food now. The good part of that is we can all eat together as a family (if I’m organized enough to get Will’s and my dinner made before the girls need to eat around 4:30). The bad part is they are now rejecting many of the healthy foods they liked (or would tolerate) when they were eating them in pureed form. Siren won’t eat broccoli, cauliflower, sweet potato, or spinach anymore.  Imogen will eat some vegetables, but definitely eats fewer now that it’s more in her control.  Another bad thing is that the girls LOVE to throw food on the floor.  I don’t know the best way to handle it.  When I tell them no, they smile and will sometimes do it even more.  The best methods we’ve found so far are to only give them a few pieces at a time, and to stop giving them any more food for a few minutes once they start tossing it.  This is far from being 100% effective, though, and I spend almost as much time cleaning food up off the floor as I do cutting it into tiny pieces.  I know you’re supposed to “enjoy every minute” of their short baby years, but I do not enjoy meal times very much.

Will has one more day left of school, and I have two.  Then we both have trainings to go to the next week, so it won’t truly feel like summer until about June 30, but it’s nice to be almost done, and I’m very much looking forward to a few weeks off. I’m returning to work full time at the end of August.  I wish I could afford another year of part-time, but we truly can’t.  The hours I will be away from them (at least for this next year) are mostly lunch and nap time.  We’ll be picking them up from day care right as they are waking up from their nap, so hopefully in the additional 3-4 hours each day they will be in child care, I’m not missing that much.  At least that’s what I’m telling myself.

But I don’t have to worry about that for awhile yet.  First we get six weeks without schedules or meetings or coordinating drop-off and pick-up.  And thankfully, Will and I both get to enjoy this time with our babies while they are still actually babies.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

