Getting back in shape

This is an addition to my body image post. Only this one is being written hurriedly on my phone.

I FINALLY feel like I am making progress in getting back in shape. I want to highlight a few of the things that are helping me.

1 – Time. I would be kidding myself if I didn’t give some credit to the fact that I don’t have to work right now. Although I did run consistently the last month of school, I am able to work out a lot more now that school is out for summer.

2 – My Fitness Pal. I had been trying to keep track of my calories using this free app on my phone, but I tended to get behind on the weekends. During the first week of summer, one of my friends started using it too, and I have logged in consistently since then. Keeping track of what I’m eating has helped me make better choices. I also HATE to be over my calorie goal, so I’m coming in under it most days.

3 – Jillian Michaels. I bought her workout video “Ripped in 30,” and since I started, I have seen a noticeable difference in my body. She recommends doing her video 5 or 6 days a week. Since I am also running (and right now in Montana, hiking) I am only doing it three days a week, but I feel like it’s working. I see a major diffference in my arm muscles, and just recently in my abs. And I’m only on week 3. Since we can’t afford to belong to a gym right now, this is a great alternative for strength training. It’s also a FAST workout (30 minutes total including warm up and cool down) with 18 minutes of circuit training. I am very hopeful I will be able to do workouts like this once school starts up again, because they are so short. If you are a regular weight-lifter, this might not be a challening workout for you, but I really recommend it for anyone getting BACK into shape. (It might be a little intense if you’re doing strength training for the FIRST time EVER.)

I’m feeling very encouraged right now because I am FINALLY starting to feel like my old self, and it’s exciting to be able to do some of the things I used to do. Hopefully I’m able to keep it up.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

