16 months

I know I haven’t posted in forever. This summer has been busy, and it’s gone by very quickly.  I had intended to write a blog post about our vacation in Montana.  I had also intended to work on the girls’ baby books and stain our fence this summer, none of which has happened. Both girls are actually sleeping right now, for the moment, so I thought I should at least give a quick update about their development  and what we’ve been doing this summer.

We spent about 3 weeks in Montana in July.  We stayed with my parents the entire time, which I’m thankful for.  This was the most time the girls have gotten to spend with these grandparents so far, and it was fun to see them interact with them.

We also got to see many other family members and friends while wer were there, which is why I like making the trip so much. After three weeks I was still sad to go home, but I did feel like I had a good “fill” of the place and people I miss so much, enough to last me until Christmas, anyway.

Once we returned to Washington, the girls spent 3 nights at their other grandparents’ house in Sequim.  Will and I got to go to an Aerosmith concert to celebrate our 10th anniversary.  We also had one whole day at our house without the girls, in which we could have done any number of projects stacked up on our to do list, but instead we hung out, watched some of our taped TV shoes (from March, at the time!) and did a 6 mile run/walk with our dog.

Once we got the girls back, it was suddenly time to start thinking about the school year and getting ready for the fall again.  Summer is always so fast.

Development-wise, the girls are moving out of the “baby” age and are becoming more and more kid-like.  They are able to communicate with signs, gestures, and some words.  They prefer to walk instead of being carried.  They are still split between taking 1 or 2 naps a day.  Unfortunately when they take two, neither nap is usually very long.  They typically wake up around 7 a.m. We give them breakfast as soon as we can get them both changed and downstairs.  After breakfast we usually go on a walk or a run with the dog.  Will usually starts with the dog, and I start with th jogging stroller, and then we switch on the way back.  If they take a morning nap, this is when they do it.  Sometimes they don’t sleep, though, and then they just enjoy the ride.  They have always done great in the stroller, thank goodness, and continue to do so.  Once we get back from the walk, the girls usually play for awhile. We get them dressed, and Will and I take turns showering.  Then we get them their lunch.  They usually eat some fruit, right now it’s bananas and kiwis. We try to give them a vegetable, but they aren’t big veggie fans at the moment.  And then they usually eat some noodles, a sandwich, or a casadilla.  We are still struggling with them throwing food on the floor, but they are getting better about it.

We try to move right from lunch into nap time, unless they finish lunch really early.  We typically start nap time around 12 or 12:30.  If I’m lucky they go down without too many tears.  Lately Imogen has been crying for 5 or 10 minutes before going to sleep.  If I’m lucky, she’ll sleep for 40 minutes.  On a great day, she may sleep for an hour or an hour and 10 minutes.  SIren will usually sleep a little longer, at least 90 minutes, and on a great day she’ll sleep for 2 hours.  The girls are in a MUCH better mood for the rest of the day if they take a good nap, but this rarely happens.  It’s also impossible to get any housework done while they’re napping because they wake up if they hear any noise. I just used the microwave for 15 seconds (and opened the door before the timer went off) and now I think I hear Imogen fussing upstairs. I’ll give her a minute to see if she falls back asleep.  We have the girls nap in different rooms, turn on the bathroom fan, the noise machine (in their room where Imogen sleeps) and a fan in each bedroom, and they STILL seem to hear everything that goes on.

Once the girls are both awake they usually eat a small snack, usually fruit and some pieces of cereal.  Then we have play time until dinner around 4:30 or 5.  We usually give them some steamed vegetables, another fruit, and then some of what we’re eating for dinner.  If they don’t like what we’re having, we’ll give them hot dogs or some more pasta or bread.  They love yogurt and water melon, so we’ll give them one of those at the end of the meal if they still seem hungry.

We try to give the girls baths every-other night, and then get them to bed by 6:30 or 7.  They are still nursing before they go to sleep.  I’m not sure how much longer I want to continue to do this.  I feel like I need to at least wait until SIren will drink a whole cup of milk. We finally got them from bottles to cups, and I don’t want to worry about whether or not she’s drinking enough milk.  So nursing before bed is working, for now.

The typically sleep until about 5 or 5:30, and then Imogen usually wakes up.  Most of the time when she does this, Siren wakes up too.  We’ve been changing them, nursing them, and then putting them back in their cribs.  If we’re lucky they will go back to sleep until 6:30 or 7.  Starting next week, though, we’ll have to keep them up if they wake up after 5:30 or so.  Maybe that will help them nap better while they’re at daycare.

I’m trying to include a picture from Montana this summer. The girls are in their wading pool in my parents’ back yard.  Siren is in purple and Imogen is in pink.  They were 15 months old in the picture. It was taken near the end of July.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

