It ain’t getting any easier…

I don’t really have time to write right now, but I never have time to write anymore, so I thought I would take a moment  anyway when I at least have something to say.

I don’t know how teachers have children and continue to be good teachers.  I really don’t. I am overwhelmed with all of the work I have for school, and I have literally given up anything resembling free time that I enjoyed over the summer.  From the time we get home it’s dinner, baths (every other night), bedtime for the girls.  And then I sit in front of the computer and do work for school until I can’t stay awake any more.  At first I was managing to run 2 nights during the week and do my Jillian exercise video 1 night during the week.  Then Jillian started only happening on Friday nights. Now it’s been 2 weeks since I’ve done any strength training at all and 1 week since I’ve done any running. I am buried in grading.  And to top it off, the girls have been sick, and Will and I are both sick now too.

While I’m very grateful for my children, and the fact that generally our family is blessed with good health, and I’m grateful to be employed, I’d be lying if I said I like my life right now.  I don’t really like it at all.  Everything feels incredibly hard, I think partially because I’m always over-tired, and partially because so much of this parenting stuff is SUPER hard.  And we’ve got it times two.

I’ve heard from a lot of people how GREAT it is to have twins once they’re a little older because they play together, but that has yet to happen for us.  They find ways to get in trouble together.  And do they ever FIGHT.  I’m completely unable to cook or get any chores done for more than about two minutes before the girls are fighting over a toy, getting into something they shouldn’t be, or are both trying to sit in my lap or climb on me at the same time and are therefore screaming.

It’s interesting to me that twins are becoming more common because there are, in my opinion, ZERO evolutionary advantages to having two babies at once.  It divides your attention, energy, resources, and time.

While teaching this year has been enjoyable for the most part, it is wearing me down.  I have two new classes, and the increase in grading switching from part-time back to full-time is killing me.

And typing all of this has put me another half-hour behind, so I guess I should end it. Sorry for all of the complaints, but life right now is just not sunshine and roses.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It ain’t getting any easier…

  1. Jodie says:

    Poor poor Ica. I wanted to be mean and say “obviously someone is fishing for a babysitter.” But I know you’re not! I’m sorry everything is so hard right now! We are available to help any time!

Leave a Reply

