An update is sorely needed

I know it’s been forever since I’ve written.  I have a lot of excuses.

1 – I hate wordpress.  Every time I go to use the site, it is dramatically different, and I can’t figure out how to update it.

2 – My computers are very slow, so I get frustrated any time I get on them to try to do anything.

3 – I’m really not on the computer much now that it’s summer.

But anyway, I do WANT to write more. It helps me remember things that I hope to someday get into the girls’ baby books.   I find myself having ideas throughout the day of things I could write about, but then I never get to it. 

School is about to start up again, which means I’m going to have zero extra time again. But hopefully I can get on here a little more often to update. At least monthly…

We’ve had a wonderful summer, and it has gone entirely too fast.  People always ask, “So what do your husband and you do since you’re both off ALL summer?” which I know isn’t mal-intentioned, but is frustrating.  This is the compensation for every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday night that we work 40 weeks out of the year. And with two 2-year-olds, it doesn’t take much to make up a day.

For the days that we’ve been home and had a “normal” routine this is pretty much how the day goes. The girls usually wake up between 6:30 and 7, and we get up with them and make breakfast. That can take anywhere from 1 hour to 2, depending on how quickly they eat. Then I usually take them in the stroller and take Nieve for a walk. Sometimes Will comes too, but usually he stays at home and tries to get a chore done, or at least take a shower. When we get back, if it’s nice out I’ll go out to the back yard with the girls. Will usually starts fixing lunch. Our goal is to eat lunch at 11:30, but sometimes it’s noon or later just depending on how things go. After lunch, the girls go down for a nap. This is usually by 1:00. The amount of time they sleep really varies. Sometimes it’s an hour and sometimes up to two. It’s hard to really get anything done while they’re napping because the girls are very sensitive to sounds and will wake up, and then be cranky. Usually we either sleep too or I’ll read (usually stuff for school.)

Once the girls are awake from nap, I’ll usually play outside with them (or inside if the weather is bad.) Then Will and I take turns fixing dinner while the other one plays with the girls for a little bit, then gets them ready to eat. Getting them into their high chairs (or into or out of ANYTHING: high chairs, car seats, stroller, bath tub, etc.) has become such a long process. I never would have thought THAT would be one of my big parenting struggles, but it is. They want to do things for themselves, but some things they still NEED help with, or sometimes they don’t feel like it, or sometimes one doesn’t want mommy’s help, but then the other one does, and then the first one decides that yes, after all, she really DOES want mommy’s help, and it turns into a huge ordeal. So a large amount of time is simply spent transitioning from one thing to another.

We try to start dinner by 5, but this doesn’t always happen, depending on how long it takes to cook our food. We are still basically making two separate meals: one for Will and me and one for the girls. They are great about trying bites of our foods, but they usually don’t want to eat enough to make a whole meal, so we have to have some food for them that we know they like (Annie’s pasta, grilled-cheese sandwiches, casadillas, fruit).

We are giving the girls baths every-other night. This is a big ordeal as well. Both girls sit on the potty before getting into the tub. And we couldn’t find two of the same potty to get for them, so they fight over the potty that is their favorite. We tried giving them baths separately for awhile, but it takes so long that we’ve gone back to doing it together.

Our timing has varied a lot over the summer, but tonight they were out of the bath around 7:10 and then in bed around 7:40. They have been going to bed pretty well, but just when you think you have one thing down, like whack-a-mole, it pops back up again. Tonight I laid them down at least 5 times after the first time of going to bed. Finally I told the girls that if they didn’t go to sleep, I would have to move one of them into the “nap room” (our guest room.) I left and two minutes later I heard, “Mama! Mama!” on the monitor. I came back upstairs. Siren said, “Nap room,” so I picked her up and brought her into the pack-n-play in the guest room, and they have been sleeping since. This was around 9:15, way too late for them to be going to bed. So who knows what tomorrow will bring.

By the time they go to sleep, I usually want to go to bed too. During the first part of the summer, though, we were training for a 1/2 marathon, so I usually still needed to either run or get another workout in before going to bed. Then there’s the crazy notion of us wanting to do normal things, like watch a TV show, so sometimes we’re up a little late doing that.

I apologize if this all sounds negative or like I’m complaining. I probably have a sour taste in my mouth from the frustrating bedtime tonight. We’ve had a good summer, and I’m incredibly thankful that we get this time to be together. But when people ask what have we been up to, this is it. Parenting. With one I’m sure it’s a full-time job, so with two it’s that and more so for the both of us.

I’ll try to post a couple of pictures assuming I can get this horribly frustrating website to cooperate. If not, they’ll be in a separate post.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

