Can I become a morning exerciser?

I did a pretty good job last year of exercising consistently.  I started during the summer, usually doing 6 days a week.  I did a decent job of keeping it up during the school year. I think I averaged working out four days a week, and there were only a few weeks here and there when I skipped exercising entirely. 

I was able to keep up my routine by beginning exercise right after the girls went to bed.  The problem is for at least the first part of last year, the girls were almost always asleep by 7:00 p.m.  Now we’re lucky if we get them into bed by 8:00, and we usually have to lay them down a couple of times before they go to sleep for good.  Some nights it’s been as late as 9 before they are actually asleep.

This isn’t going to give me much time in the evenings, so I’m hoping this year to become a morning exerciser.  The problem with this is I literally need to be out of bed at 4 a.m. and going as soon as possible after that to get in a workout before I need to be hitting the shower at 5 a.m.  I have enough difficulty getting out of bed as it is. Making my wake-up time an hour earlier isn’t going to be easy, but I want to try.

I have two weeks until school starts, so I’m trying to start getting into the habit now.  This morning I woke up at 5 a.m. and went running.  I only snoozed the alarm once, got up at 5:09, went downstairs and changed, and then I was out the door by 5:30.  I ran for 30 minutes (add 10 minutes for a 5 minute warm up and cool down) and was back around 6:10.  The girls were sleeping when I got back, but apparently had heard me leave because Will said he had to get up and change them and lay them back down at 5:30.  So waking the girls up could become a problem.

I’m hoping that overall, working out in the morning will save me some time.  Try as I might to get going on my workout RIGHT after the girls go to bed, I know many nights it took me 15-20 minutes to change and really motivate myself to get started.  Then afterwards I would feel SUPER hungry, and I would need to eat a snack.  So it would be a minimum of 30 minutes after I was DONE working out before I got started on my work for the night.  I typically have at least 2 hours of work to get done for school on week nights, so I really need all of the time in the evenings that I can get.  I’m hoping that by moving my work outs to the morning, I can focus on work after the girls go to bed, and then head to bed earlier myself.  I just don’t know if I’ll be able to get to bed early enough to face waking up at 4 a.m.

So today was day 1.  I’m going to attempt to do this 4 days this week (Thursday we have plans to go hiking.)  And I’m going to try to do it 5 days next week.  The only days I HAVE to be at work these next two weeks are Wednesday and Thursday next week, and we start later than usual on those days, so they’ll be good practice to see if I can do it on an actual day of school.

So today was day 1.  I’m going to see if I can make this change, and if it helps.  Here’s hoping.

About Twins Happen

My husband and I learned that we were having twins in October of 2010. I started this blog so that family and friends could follow my pregnancy and the development of our children. I'm continuing to post about my girls, parenting, and trying to balance work, family time, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

